Gazpacho

I’ve made Gazpacho about three times in the past month and it’s not even summer yet.  I thought I’d give you the recipe for crack:

4-5 inch chunk stale baguette, crust removed

1 large garlic clove

1 medium-sized cucumber, roughly chopped

1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and roughly chopped

3 large beefsteak tomatoes or 4 smaller ones, cored and roughly chopped

1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2 teaspoons sherry

2 teaspoons red wine vinegar

1 teaspoon kosher salt

juice of a 1/2 lemon

1 jalapeno, seeded

soak the bread in water and squeeze it out, then put everything in your food processor or blender and blend till smooth.  Make sure you chill at least three hours before serving, preferably overnight.  This is just how I make mine, obviously there are a million different ways to vary it… but I promise you won’t regret that jalapeno (oh, and I am too lazy to actually remove the crust from the french bread… I see the point of doing it, just don’t have the patience… nor to let it stale, I stick it in the oven at 200 till it gets stale-like)

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes

6 responses to “Gazpacho

  1. Ivy

    Hahahaha, I just made this last night! We had to restrain ourselves so that we have leftovers (and I put it in the freezer for an hour because I don’t have the self control to not eat it the day I make it). I also am too lazy to remove the crust.

  2. Jessica

    oh, it’s good to not be the only Baremore!

  3. For crack? Hmmm. I never would’ve pegged you for that. xoxo

  4. Monica

    I didn’t catch the SEEDED part on the jalapeno. Holy moly is it spicy as all get out!

Leave a Reply

