Guacamole

My friend Lori was over tonight for ShoreLIT, the book club I’m heading up as a Shoreline Life Group.  I laid out a taco bar and did my best impression of Matt Emmons’ guacamole (I’ve been watching you!).  She begged for the recipe.  Unfortunately I’m not a measurer but here are the proportions I think I had in tonight’s dip:

– 9 perfectly ripe avocados, peeled and pitted

– 3 fresh jalapenos, de-seeded completely (unless you like it hot!)

– 1/2 large red onion, finely chopped

– 1 cup loosely packed fresh cilantro, chopped

– 1 lemon, all of the juice

– 2 teaspoons kosher salt

– 1 teaspoon garlic powder

put everything in a big bowl and stir with a large fork, mashing up the avacado as you work (no need to mash the avacado before you add everything else as long as it is ripe) if you like your guacamole a little chunky like we do. 

When I’m done, I usually go about adding more of this and that.  Go less than what you think you’ll need on the lemon juice and add as needed.  Once it’s there you can’t take it back.  

… and I’m sure as everyone knows, you get your avocados ripe by letting them sit in a brown paper bag.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Guacamole

  1. Thanks for posting this recipe! It was so delicious! Um, I had no idea that putting avocados in a brown paper bag would make them turn ripe.

Leave a Reply

