Beach Update and Chocolate Cake

First thing’s first.  Lori has made it no secret that I have been slow to share my chocolate sheet cake recipe.  I’m flattered someone thinks it is as fantastic as I think it is.

This cake oozes family reunions and funerals.  You actually boil the cake batter and the icing.  And you use margarine.  I love old recipes.  This one’s my Great Grandmother’s, Mama Ivy.  My Mother sent this to me years ago stating it was Mama Louise’s (Mama Ivy’s daughter).  Maybe it is?  But, I’m pretty sure it’s Mama Ivy’s.  My Mother also always doubles the recipe for the icing.  I know she’ll make a comment telling everyone to do this so I’m just going to state it up front.  I personally don’t think it’s a good idea, but if you’re really into icing, well, why not?  Bring it on, Mom!  ;]

 Cake

 1 cup water

2 squares unsweetened chocolate

1 stick margarine

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 cups sugar

2 cups sifted flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup buttermilk

2 beaten eggs

 

– In a bowl, mix sugar, flour, baking soda and salt

– Mix eggs, vanilla, and buttermilk, then add to the dry ingredients and stir until blended

– Bring water, chocolate, margarine, and vegetable oil to a boil and stir into the contents of the bowl until blended.

– Pour into a greased/floured 9” x 13” cake pan and bake at 350 degrees until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean (approximately 30 minutes).

 

Icing

 1 stick margarine

6 tablespoons water

2 squares unsweetened chocolate

1 box confectioner’s sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups pecans (optional)

 

– Bring the margarine, water, and chocolate to a boil. 

– Beat in the confectioner’s sugar,  vanilla, and pecans.

 – Spread over warm cake.

 

Second thing’s second.  Boy, I’m funny.

The beach today was a hot mess.  Like, really.  It was.  My friend Amy is visiting me and we’ve been making it a point to chill at the beach everyday  (yes, it is that awesome).  So, we drive to the beach today and we’ve decided to go to the private Eglin beach on the Fort Walton Beach side of the Destin Bridge.  The guy at the gate tells us the “June Grass” is really bad today.  We’re like, “is it as bad as it’s been the past few days?” and he was like, “Yeah”, so we’re like, whatever, no big deal.  The water has had a little seaweed but nothing to write home about.

Um, let’s take a look.

Beautiful shade of army green sludge.

P6140039

We looked like creatures from the unknown (this is Amy, I totally don’t get why my kids like her so much).

 

P6140041

 

P6140044

 

P6140043

So we played monsters and built a monster castle

P6140048

Not your “average” day at the beach, but a day at the beach nonetheless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

