If you are wondering what your husband is feeding your children when you aren’t looking…

We had our last installment of “ShoreLit”, the book club I head up for Shoreline Church this past Monday.  If you’re wondering, we read “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan” by Lisa See.  Good read.  

I knew June was going to be a month with a lot to do and a lot of surprises, so my friend Lauren graciously stepped in to host.  Lauren lives in my neighborhood, so knowing I didn’t have to really ration my time, I lost track of it altogether.  I realized right around the time I needed to leave that I never made dinner for my family.  Whoops.  So, I frantically tell Randy what’s in the refrigerator that would make a meal.  There’s bread and there’s cheese, you can make grilled cheese sandwiches and open up a can of soup.  There’s grapes, there’s half a sandwich left over from Harry T’s.  I can see Randy’s eyes glaze over.  This isn’t going to happen.  I switch tactics.  Randy and I were sharing a car that day since his car’s transmission was being rebuilt.  He can drop me off and I can walk home.  Randy can grab dinner then drop the car off at Lauren’s house and he and the kids will walk home.  We both cringe at the thought of walking anywhere in this heat and humidity.  We call it a draw.  Randy will just figure it out and I take the car.  On the way out the door, I remind him we have a half bag of tortilla chips and some refried beans and cheese, he could make nachos.  

So, I arrive at Lauren’s house and I’m feeling like a chump.  I shouldn’t have left them to fend for themselves, Lord knows what they were going to eat.  We all pondered what my family could possibly end up eating and we decided they were definitely on their way to Tijuana Flats by foot as we spoke.

Well, let me tell you, I misjudged.  When I got home, I spotted a big pan on the coffee table in the living room.  I take a peek, and this is what I find:

P6150050

It appears that the pan holds some sort of “nachos a la Randy”.  On the right, my friends, would be a tub of peanut butter.  The dark spots in the peanut butter are apparently beans that fell off of the nachos when my children were DIPPING THEM IN THE PEANUT BUTTER.  I’m not even kidding.  I’m told the children couldn’t get enough of the nachos with peanut butter.

God bless him, my husband is absolutely precious.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “If you are wondering what your husband is feeding your children when you aren’t looking…

  1. Angela Angelovic

    You mean I’m supposed to feel guilty for not making dinner? ; )

    • Amber Angelovic

      Yes mom, you are supposed to feel bad for not making us dinner. In fact, you should feel bad for NEVER cooking us meals. 😉 you cook once every two weeks if we are lucky. Can someone please talk some sense into her?!

  2. Monica

    That’s a bit odd. It sounds like something my Will would ask for. He likes peanut butter on just about anything!

  3. Jessica

    yeah, I guess my kids do too! You should try it ;]

  4. Lauren

    Seriously…. who needs Ti’juana Flats?!

  5. Oh ralph! I think I just threw up in my mouth a little bit. Why have grilled cheese when you can have nachos with peanut butter? Yack!

  6. LOL, that is very interesting.

  7. Oh my word that makes my stomach hurt! Too funny. They got fed right? :o)

Leave a Reply

