Mama Lois’s Recipe Box

My Grandmother, Mama Lois, passed away over five years ago and her big wooden box full of recipes miraculously appeared on my doorstep this week.  That’s kind-of a long sordid story.  What you need to know is there are no less than 100 jello salad recipes and about TEN takes on chocolate sheet cake.  I was telling my friends Kim and Anissa about one of the recipes I was excited about, and they were excited about it too.  I thought I’d go ahead and post it for everyone.

Frozen Banana Salad

 3 bananas, mashed

16 oz. Carton sour cream

15 oz. Can crushed pineapple, undrained

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 tsp. Salt

1/2 cut chopped lemon juice

2 Tbsp. Chopped maraschino cherries

 Combine all ingredients and stir until well blended.  Pour into an oiled 1/5 quart mold and freeze until firm.  Unmold on lettuce-lined platter and let stand 10 to 15 minutes before serving.  Makes 8 to 10 servings.

For my take, I’m going to sub greek yogurt for the sour cream, and I really don’t know what chopped lemon juice is either????   I’m not sure the sugar is entirely necessary, and I’ll also just spray the pan with pam.  I’ll let you know if we’re able to convert this into a guilt-free dessert!

Also, all this talk about chocolate sheet cake has me wanting to try this

Pineapple Sheet Cake

2 cups sugar, 1/4 cup oil, 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons baking soda, 2 cups flour, 1 large can crushed pineapple

mix everything together and bake in a sheet cake pan at 350 for 1 hour

filling

1 small can of evaporated milk, 1 stick of butter, 1 cup of sugar

bring to a boil slowly, boil 10 minutes then add 1 cup of nuts, 1 cup of coconut and pour over the cake while hot

interesting, no?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Mama Lois’s Recipe Box

  1. Ivy

    That’s impressive, maybe you can scan in some of the recipes? Also, maybe cut lemon juice is something to do with a frozen concentrate?

    You’ll have to tell me the story sometime. Good luck with the packing!

    • Jessica

      How about if I just mail it to you? I can make copies of some things then you can feel free to leisurely browse??? ;]

  2. march

    I want scanned copies too!!!!

Leave a Reply

