Road Trip!

Is there something you MUST eat when on a road trip?

It seems to be the only time I eat beef jerky.  Why do I crave beef jerky on the road?

My Mother eats Cheetos.  My Dad would buy those long skinny packages of peanuts.

My husband wouldn’t pass through West, Texas without stopping for a Kolache.

I’m coming to my point now.

I live in Europe, and we travel a lot.  By the way, gas stations in Europe don’t carry beef jerky, cheetos or kolaches.

We’ve come up with new road trip traditions, however, my favorite being wierd chips.  The wierder the better.

We recently took a trip to the South of France.  Ahhhh, France is like Mecca of wierd chips.

mmmm… kebap-flavored chips.  These indeed taste kebapy, but they weren’t so ODD-tasting if you know what I mean.

Cheeseburger-flavored chips.  These chips will totally freak you out.  Every chip shocked you again, like, “HOW DID THEY DO THAT????!!!”.  Randy and I just kept eating them and looking at each other is surprise.  They taste just like McDonalds cheeseburgers.  The meat, the ketchup, the cheese, the pickles.  It’s all in there.

These beauties are Swiss.  Beggin’ strips for people.

My all-time favorite flavoured chips are Lay’s “Poulet Rôti et Thym”, or roasted chicken with thyme.  I don’t have a picture of them, but if you see them in a gas station, BUY THEM!  They are oddly delicious!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Road Trip!

  1. Ivy

    We do the same thing! England has Worcester Sauce, pickled onion, thai chili, and curry flavors. And Monster Munch, which are kind of like a mix between Funyuns and Fritos. Mexico’s chips were fairly unexciting (guacamole and jalapeno), but their lollipops were amazingly odd and horrible tasting. And they had layers, with each layer tasting more awful than the next. But they did come with lucha libre finger puppets, so we kept buying them. However, American road trip food is Smartfood White Cheddar Popcorn all the way. There are 9 years of popcorn kernels under my car seat to attest to this habit.

    PS I also compulsively buy the long skinny packages of peanuts, but am always disappointed and never finish them.

  2. America

    I would love to try those! The burger ones made me drool.

Leave a Reply

